BTS: How to self book Fisherman's Trail Portugal

watch over my shoulder how to plan, book 4 days hike

Hey Epic Hikers!

Today weā€™re going behind the scenes planning a family meetup on the Fishermanā€™s Trail on the Rota Vicentina network in southern Portugal. Yes, hiking ā€œinn-to-innā€ is the best family reunion you can imagine šŸ˜

Hereā€™s what Iā€™ve got for you today:

In partnership with

This weekā€™s issue is in partnership with Arcā€™Teryx. Because itā€™s the only brand I love that my teenage daughter will be seen out with me wearing.

1. Fishermanā€™s Trail on the Rota Vicentina : September

So, my brother wants to visit me in Europe from Alaska (or he just wants to come to Europe and Iā€™m here anyways) and the perfect excuse is to hike in Portugal.

The Fishermanā€™s trail is quite perfect as he can only come in late Sep after summer business is complete at his RV park.

Summary of Trail:

  • Fishermanā€™s Trail is a 13 day Section of the Rota Vicentina Network

  • Perfect non-summer long distance multi - day hike (inn-to-inn - no huts, camping is technically not allowed but lots of people do it)

  • Scenic without much elevation change

  • The absolute best part is 4 days Porto Covo to Odeceixe

  • Easy luggage transport, cute fishing villages to stay each night

  • THE FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cannot wait to do this a second time, and in warmer weather. Iā€™m bringing my swimsuit.

Also, itā€™s my birthday so weā€™re going to have a blast.

Fishermanā€™s Trail: 2.5 hours south of Lisbon on Coast

This tasty trail was my first solo backpacking ever back in 2021. I used luggage transport and def will do that again.

I love supporting small businesses that are involved in the slow travel movement. Itā€™s a flat easy road for them to move luggage and last time the owner said he was listening to podcasts to learn a 4th language. We will see how he is now.

Today I decided to share how I use a cute spreadsheet to stay organized and exactly how I planned and booked it today after a whatsapp message from my brother came in confirming heā€™ll fly over to hike with me.

yay!

šŸŽÆ Read my detailed blog about this 4 day section of the Fishermanā€™s Trail.

šŸŽÆ Hereā€™s the GPS if you want to plan your own trip.

2. Watch it šŸŽ„ šŸ‘‰ Morganā€™s tiktok-esque view of the cliffs

3. Step-by-Step How To Use My Planner

Itā€™s not one of the types of trips you really need, or should use a paid planner. The sections are clearly laid out, the luggage tranpsort is a google form online and the trail is EXCEEDINGLY well marked.

Hereā€™s my planner if you want to copy and paste it. Itā€™s in ā€œairtableā€ because itā€™s far superior to excel or google sheetsā€¦nah, i dont really know about spreadsheets but i like how it works on mobile.

Iā€™ve recorded an over-the-shoulder for this one to help you if you want to plan your own. Itā€™s a simple loom you can watch and then utilize the spreadsheet better.

5 min.

4. Multi-day Hike Details: Distance, Towns (Itā€™s all in the spreadsheet)

Doing the Best of the Fishermen's Trail šŸŽ£

šŸšŒ Day 0: Lisbon to Porto Covo - Hop on the bus for a 2.5-hour ride to start your adventure.

šŸ„¾ Day 1: Porto Covo āž”ļø Vila Nova Milfontes - Trek 12 miles (20 km) along the captivating coast.

šŸŒŠ Day 2: Vila Nova Milfontes āž”ļø Almograve - A scenic 9 miles (15 km) of coastal beauty.

šŸš Day 3: Almograve āž”ļø Zambujeira do Mar - Discover 13 miles (21 km) of picturesque trails.

šŸŒ… Day 4: Zambujeira do Mar āž”ļø Odeceixe - Conclude with an 11-mile (18 km) journey to Odeceixe.

šŸšŒ Day 5: Odeceixe āž”ļø Lisbon - Board the bus in the morning for a relaxing 2.5-hour return trip.

Hotel Guide:

Portrait fishermen's Trail hotels - - fishermens hotels-Grid view.pdf107.00 KB ā€¢ PDF File

Iā€™m all about feedback (nice tho), so hit reply and let me know what you think and want more of.

Letā€™s Go Hikingā€¦

-Morgan