From a PT's Desk: 11 Expert Tips to Choose Trekking Poles That Go the Distance! 🚶‍♂️💪

Sale this weekend on premium poles

Hey there epic hikers!

I’m sitting down to write this before packing for a girls trip to the fjords of Montenegro, why is packing so hard?

I bought these at a local sports store in Garmisch, Germany on a June hike. They were pretty much sold out of everything else and they were so nice and lightweight and this thumb strap is super cool. Except when you want to quickly take a photo. And then they broke on the Tour du Mont blanc.

But enough about my hard life, let’s talk trekking poles. Choosing the right ones can make a huge difference in your experience on multiday treks with uneven surfaces or steep inclines.

🎯I’ve done the Alta Via 1 with and without poles, and it’s clear that my knees prefer poles but my camera photography obsession hates them.

Not everyone needs them, but if you:

  • have bad knees

  • are going multi-day

  • are prone to spraining your ankle

  • want something to fight off dogs/bears

…a quality set of adjustable poles are probably a good investment. Carefully consider bringing them on a plane. I’ve had some confiscated.

Memorial Day Sale

Today starts the Black Diamond sale so you can get some pretty sweet deals đź‘Ž

I’m obsessed with my “shock absorption” poles from Black Diamond…they aren’t the lightest but they are so comfy, durable and the straps work for my wrists to quickly pull out my camera when I want.

And without changing the pole itself, I can shift my grip to make them shorter for the uphills.

Learn from my mistakes going through SEVERAL pairs.

Adjustability: Look for poles that are easily adjustable. Telescoping poles or those with a locking mechanism allow you to adapt the length to different terrains.

Material Matters: Choose poles made from lightweight materials such as carbon fiber or aluminum. Carbon is lighter but can be more brittle in cold weather, while aluminum is slightly heavier but more durable.

Grip Comfort: Test different grip materials – foam, cork, or rubber. Cork grips conform to your hands over time and absorb sweat, making them comfortable for long treks.

Wrist Strap Design: Ensure the wrist straps are comfortable and adjustable to help distribute the load and provide support.

Shock Absorption: Consider poles with shock-absorbing features to reduce impact on joints, especially when descending.

Tip Durability: Check the tip material – carbide or steel tips offer good traction and durability on various surfaces.

Weight: Heavier poles can make your arms tire more quickly. Aim for the lightest poles that still meet your strength and durability needs.

Compactness: If you're traveling, consider how small the poles can collapse. Compact poles are easier to pack and transport.

Locking Mechanism: Reliable locking mechanisms are crucial. Test them to ensure they hold the pole sections firmly in place.

Balance: Check the balance of the poles by holding them horizontally. Well-balanced poles will feel more comfortable and natural in use.

Try Before You Buy: If possible, test poles on similar terrain to where you'll be hiking. This will give you the best idea of their performance and comfort.

Let’s Go Hiking!

-Morgan

P.S. I having tried Viking brand and Leki lightweights (for ultra runners) and they both broke mid trek and I had to carry them out.